Confessions of an internet junkie

Confessions of an Internet Junkie Addiction support groups say that the first step to being cured of an addiction is to admit that you are addicted to that something. So here it goes, “Hi I’m Mavic and I can’t imagine my daily routine without the internet”. The first thing I do in the morning is to check my facebook account  and see what my friends are up to. Then, I check my  gmail and yahoomail . After that I check the news via inquirer.net just in case classes are suspended perhaps due to some major city disaster, a.k.a. earthquakes, floods, moved/extended holidays. And before breakfast, before trying to believe in at least six impossible things, I’ve already said hello to the world via the World Wide Web. The rest of my waking hours(except those I spend in school) I am either checking fashion blogs strewn all across cyberspace or checking fashion magazines’ websites.

I remember my STS professor telling the class last year that there will come a time when the Internet will become ‘invisible’ like electricity. When this happens, it will become more ubiquitous than it is now and it will weave its way into every human being’s life without him or her knowing it. Just like electricity, it will become a very indispensable commodity and the world will revolve around it so much so that every little thing we do will be affected by the internet. The Internet is shaping our lives as much as we are shaping the Internet. The article written by Bill Gates 10 years ago certainly has a lot of truth in it. I am amazed at how the predictions he has identified are well-manifested in today’s cyber community. He raised issues such as piracy, privacy, security and the need for the government to come up with rules to regulate internet commerce. Sadly, the issues he has mentioned are still unresolved issues that every internet consumer must not take for granted. As years pass, the Internet has mirrored the ever expanding nature of the Universe and more and more people are going online. Anyone can now communicate and share information regardless of where they are as long as they have access to the internet. With most of our geographical and logistical problems solved, the challenge therein lies in the quality of the information we share and our personal judgment of when to draw the line in information sharing. Because of the possibility that too much personal information are likely to be shared via social networking sites, another challenge lies in how we could forge lasting and meaningful relationships with people and go beyond informing the world of what you ate or what you are doing at the moment. The internet has provided us with a lot of channels for communication but we must not lose sight of the basic tenets of communication that goes beyond choosing the right channels. There are just some things that will always be better when handled face to face. Being an internet junkie, it is scary when I realize how much of my life revolves around the internet. But I’m now resolved to always make it to a point to go offline once in a while to smell the flowers.

